My visit to Budapest

13

I want to write you today a little bit about my time spent in a beautiful city, Budapest. For those who don’t know, it is the capital of Hungary and one of the largest cities in the European Union. According to UCityGuides, it is also the 9th most beautiful city in the World.

This summer I had the chance to take a visit there. For some reasons, I have not taken as many photos as I should have, but I’ll share my thoughts about those places that I’ve had.

If you’re a beauty-, fashion-, shopping lover, or you just simply love the fancy lifestyle and you’re looking for a place to spend your time (and money), than you are going to love the Váci street and its area. You can find the most popular international brands here, whether you are interested in clothes, makeup, beauty, food and restaurants or gifts. Although it is a busy area, and the whole city is flooded with tourists, I could still enjoy walking across there. The buildings were huge and stunning. I was impressed by the appearance of the city in general, it totally gives back the feeling of old times. It is also amazing how it kept its style through many years.

DSC00799DSC00803DSC00805DSC00808

DSC00793

“V” stands for the “Váci street”

Andi3

1a.jpg

Of course, I have to mention how incredible the Danube, the Margaret Island and the bridges are in the centre of the city. It is a well known fact that back than, there were two different towns separated by the river, Buda and Pest. In 1873 they were joined and the city we are talking about was created. The two parts are connected with 10 bridges, everyone has its own history and beauty. The island is huge and stunning, also a great place to do your workout. You know, it’s boring to get out for jogging alone. Well, you’ll always find partners here.

12

DSC00869DSC00735DSC00872

Probably you’ve noticed my love for lamps too, just like my friends had. But how cute are they. 🙂

The next thing I want to write about, is the public transport. Of course, not in general, but the public transport in Budapest. If you live in a big, modern and well organised town, you probably know what is like to travel from A to B, efficiently. Well, I didn’t know until this summer. The public transport is provided by the BKK, one of the largest transportation authorities in Europe and basically you can get quickly everywhere, with anything in the city. My favourite was the metro line, which includes the historic Line 1 (the second oldest underground railway in the world). You can see a station on the picture below. I instantly felt in the 19th century.

DSC00970DSC01014.JPG

One of my favourite day was when me and my boyfriend randomly went out for a walk. There is a big park, called “Városliget” in the main part of the city, which was a perfect place for us. It is quiet, nice and calm. As we went through, we found this lake and castle. How nice is it!

Moving forward, on the edge of the same park, we have reached the “Hero’s square”. It is a wide square, with famous statues. The Millenium monument, Gabriel archangel and the main leaders, kings of the country.

DSC0094161079

Last but not least, a few words about the pride of the country, the Hungarian Parliament, also known as the House of the Country. I don’t know why, but I was pretty surprised that we actually can enter inside the building. Of course, it was a well organised tour. The building is perfectly symmetrical, and in the centre is placed the treasure of the Country: our first king, St. Stephen’s crown. We were visiting the north side, witch is reserved for tourists. The south side is the actual, active part of the parliament, where all the leaders and politicians are.

20160827_115643 copy5132

This journey was a great adventure for me, and Budapest is definitely one of those places I want to go back. Probably I couldn’t live there in a long term, because of the huge population and the busy lifestyle, but it is a beautiful city with a lot of opportunities, attractions, and in a week, you can only taste a little of it.

Here is a short video about our trip. At least some little pieces. 🙂

4 thoughts on “My visit to Budapest

Leave a Reply

