My skincare routine

1

Hi everyone!

I wanted to write this post for a while, so finally I’m able to do it. 🙂 Skincare is the main part of beauty treatment, whether you are using makeup or not. But if you do, you should pay attention to your skin even more!

I’ll show you the steps I do every single day and the products I use regularly.

1. Cleansing – the first and indispensable step

Every morning and evening I start my routine with cleaning my skin. I usually have makeup during the day, and I like to wash the most of it firstly with my favourite Bioten Cleansing Gel and a lot of water. I use it even in the morning, when I have almost clean skin, because I feel a lot more refreshed as if I would only use water. Btw, I prefer gel like products to cream based, because after using cream products I feel like I need to wash my face, and washing my face is only satisfying with foam, if not, I can’t feel totally clean. Do you know what I mean? 😀

5

Bioten (or Elmiplant Cosmetics) is a Romanian brand, it was first established in 1992 by Elena and Ion Cremenescu, but lately it was taken over by Greek group Sarantis. Here, in Romania, almost every product is labeled as Elmiplant, but you can find all of them across Europe, as Bioten. I think it is one of my favourite brands, they are very natural, light and skin friendly.

2. Removing any dirt and makeup – it’s all about the details

If I am left with some stubborn makeup patches after cleansing, I shake up my Balea Two Phase Makeup Remover and I put just a little to a cotton pad, then I gently remove the rest of the dirt. It is an oily product, so you should use tiny amounts of it, otherwise it can dry out  your skin around your eyes. It is very efficient, anyway.

4

Balea products can be found only in DM (Drogerie Markt) markets. They are also manufactured by DM so their price are very affordable.

Moving on…if you’re interested in beauty industry, I’m sure you have already seen the Garnier Micellar Water praised to the sky. Well, I can understand why. It’s because, just when you thought you’re all done and clean, this one can find more dirt on your skin. It can be used as a makeup remover too, if you leave it on your eyes for a few seconds, but I just use my Balea remover for that. I think micellar waters are not meant to be removing big chuncks of makeup, they are not oil based, and we all know that nothing can clean off our makeup better than oils. (Although, if you have oily skin, you should find an other alternative) Anyway…back to the point. Garnier’s micellar water is the best option if you want an affordable, efficient, long lasting cleanser, which is made of only 7, all harmless ingredients.

3

3. Exfoliating and pampering – extra steps for that extremely soft skin

This one I should put into brackets, because  I take this only once a week, it’s not in my daily routine, but you know what? It’s more important than that, so this is my 3rd advice. Exfoliating helps to remove the dead skin cells and prepare the skin for pampering, so you should definitely try that if you haven’t already. I can recommend Himalaya Herbals Gentle Exfoliating Daily Face Wash for this.

Did I just mentioned pampering? Yes, even your skin loves that! Finding the perfect nourishing face mask can be the cherry on the cake.

6

I tried some products from this brand called Cosmetic Plant a few weeks ago. I like it so far, especially this range, “honey and royal jelly”. This mask has a lot of moisturising benefits.  Did you know that royal jelly is very good for your physical health and it can slow down your skin ageing? I mean..How can it be bad, if a little honey bee becomes a queen by eating that? 🙂

4. Moisturising – it’s like feeding your skin with its favourite food

It took me a long time to actually understand what moisturising is, what kind of product should I use,  which time of the day, and so on…should I use a night and a day cream separately? Should I use eye cream? Isn’t that too much? Isn’t that harmful? We should avoid those chemicals, shouldn’t we?

Well…I’m gonna explain my answers for these questions. First of all, I believe that God created a lot of things for our benefits, and those precious plants, oils, materials are not made by coincidence, they have a purpose, and I’m glad that we can use them. Even in the ancient times women used a lot of beauty products. (e.g. aloe vera, coconut oil, etc..)  The question is… then why we just don’t use the raw, pure materials? Why should the technology come and make a tons of products? It’s all about the money, isn’t it? Well…yes, it is about the money. But that’s not the whole story, they can actually do a very good job. They can make good products for us. I love that technology can analyse the human body and they can actually manufacture products for our benefits. Almost everything can be useful in small portions, but in big ones they can become poison. Yeah, I can say that from experience, I’ve dried out my skin to death with raw coconut oil, because I thought it can’t hurt. So I decided to trust a little in those chemist. Of course you should be careful! I highly recommend to do your own research about the ingredients and analyse your products. There are websites which give you details about every INCI (International Nomenclature of Cosmetic Ingredients). They are listed on every packaging, in order of the amount of the ingredients in the product. Anyway…I should turn to the point. But this is my story why I use these products below, and this was my advice.

Daily Moisturising Cream

1

I use Elmiplant (or Bioten) Skin Moisture Moisturising Day Cream every morning, this is the ultimate one for me. I’ve tried lots of others but I keep coming back to this. It has a light texture, it refreshes, nourishes my skin in the morning and gives me a healthy glow, a fresh look. The only disadvantage is that it doesn’t contain SPF, so I’ll have to use some sunscreen under this. SPF means (Sun Protectin Factor) and it protects you against sun damage which can dramatically age your skin. I had this Olay cream once, which I liked, but unfortunately the brand stopped delivering their products in our country.

Eye Cream

My eye area is very sensitive and it can be very dry at the same time. As I mentioned above, I was hesitating if I should use an eye cream separately, won’t be it too much? I was consulting with my mother about this, because she started to get wrinkles around her eyes, so she was also hunting for the perfect eye cream. The anti-ageing ones made it worse, so she was searching for a hydrating, light cream. It was a great lecture for me, and I  drew the conclusion that I should take care on my eye area more than the rest of my face. It has a very thin and sensitive skin.  (Don’t worry though, my mum is still beautiful as always. 🙂 ) Sooo, this is my one and only eye cream, from the same range as the face mask. And probably I am expecting too much from the royal jelly, but so far, so good. It is a light cream, and unlike the others, this one doesn’t irritate my skin at all! I use it every morning and evening before applying my moisturisers.

2

Night Cream

For a long time, I thought night creams are nothing but an other trap, an other opportunity to waste your money. Why should I use night cream separately? Well, our skin is much more complex than we think and it operates differently according to the time of the day. During daytime, it functions as a shield, it protects us from external damages, but at night, when our immune system takes the lead, our skin calms down and starts to regenerate. After 11 o’clock our body produces new cells, and we can help this process with sleeping. Night creams can redound our skin for this process. Some ingredients are responsible to exfoliate the dead cells, while others to regenerate the new ones. So that is why I am satisfied with my night cream, from the same ‘honey brand’, because as I said, royal jelly is known as a great regenerating product. It is a lot more thicker than my daily cream, but I can definitely feel my skin a lot more softer in the morning.

I hope you enjoyed my skincare routine, I have to say that every person is different, what works for me, it might not work for you. Generally I have a normal skin, but of course it depends on my mood, psychical and physical health, how I eat, sleep, and how many water I drink. Skincare starts from the inside, the outside care is only a little part of it. Be kind, and happy, take care of your soul and your health because chemicals can’t replace those things.

Lots of love. untitled-4-copy

Leave a Reply

